Free Your Pen: Lojong for Writers

Jessica Davidson

Continuing the extracts from Free Your Pen: Mind Training for Writers. In the last few posts we explored why the mind is such an unruly place and what we can do about it. Now we dig deeper into the source of mind training practice and look at some of the ideas that underpin the teachings in this extract from chapter two:

buddha

What is Lojong?

Lojong is a meditation practice from the Tibetan Buddhist tradition that uses 59 slogans or aphorisms to train the mind in compassion and resilience. It is rooted in the Buddha’s teachings and includes practices that work as antidotes to the negative thought patterns that cause suffering.

The word lojong is usually translated as ‘mind training’, but the meaning of the Tibetan word is closer to ‘refining’ than to ‘training’ the mind. The idea is to use meditation to tame and quieten your mind, and…

View original post 1,493 more words

Author: Grandtrines

Like so many people, I am a paradox. I am a politically conservative vegetarian. I am from a Christian background, and still tend to like those values, but am a metaphysical astrologer trained in science who has an interest in the magic of ancient Egypt and a weird belief that some piece of our essence can live on a server. I live in Texas, but like chatting with my international Wordpress pals the best. I learn by teaching. Technically, I am a "Leo," but I am very, very Aquarian with a dose of Scorpio. I bitterly complain about Algol (and Algol personaliites), yet it is the one star that defines me most (other than Regulus). (Which, oddly, makes me an Algol personality.) I am a reclusive lover of peace and quiet who has the Ascendant in the Via Combusta (the most conflict ridden part of the zodiac). I am an incredibly private person with a blog with over 800 followers and 50 to 150 regular daily visitors. I could go on, but I think you get the picture.

Leave a Reply

