Happy Birthday: Joan Crawford (1906–1977)

WILDsound Writing and Film Festival Review

Joan Crawford (1906–1977).jpgJoan Crawford (1906–1977)

Born: March 23, 1906 in San Antonio, Texas, USA
Died: May 10, 1977 (age 71) in New York City, New York, USA

Married to:
Alfred Steele (14 January 1956 – 6 April 1959) (his death)
Phillip Terry (21 July 1942 – 25 April 1946) (divorced) (1 child)
Franchot Tone (11 October 1935 – 11 April 1939) (divorced)
Douglas Fairbanks Jr. (3 June 1929 – 15 May 1934) (divorced)

[on working with Bette Davis in What Ever Happened to Baby Jane? (1962) at Legendary Ladies of the Movies, Town Hall (1973)] It was one of the greatest challenges I ever had. [pauses to allow the laughter from the audience to taper off] I meant that kindly. Bette is of a different temperament than I. Bette had to yell every morning. I just sat and knitted. I knitted a scarf from Hollywood to Malibu.

[on director George Cukor] Mr…

View original post 166 more words

Author: Grandtrines

Like so many people, I am a paradox. I am a politically conservative vegetarian. I am from a Christian background, and still tend to like those values, but am a metaphysical astrologer trained in science who has an interest in the magic of ancient Egypt and a weird belief that some piece of our essence can live on a server. I live in Texas, but like chatting with my international Wordpress pals the best. I learn by teaching. Technically, I am a "Leo," but I am very, very Aquarian with a dose of Scorpio. I bitterly complain about Algol (and Algol personaliites), yet it is the one star that defines me most (other than Regulus). (Which, oddly, makes me an Algol personality.) I am a reclusive lover of peace and quiet who has the Ascendant in the Via Combusta (the most conflict ridden part of the zodiac). I am an incredibly private person with a blog with over 800 followers and 50 to 150 regular daily visitors. I could go on, but I think you get the picture.

Leave a Reply

