Happy Trails (A Father’s Day story)

Tales from Sweet Salone

19265132_10101051293451302_2135777238_nEveryone calls my father Tito even though that’s not his real name. The higher-ups of the World Wrestling Federation, now World Wrestling Entertainment, gave it to him in 1979 when they decided to sell him as their Mexican wrestler. His real name is Merced and he was actually born in Texas to a poor, Catholic family just across the Rio Grande. He worked for years as a child field laborer, earning pennies that he and his siblings would give to his father, who would in turn use the money to quench his thirst for liquor and satisfy his hunger for Tex-Mex strippers.

My father ended up falling into wrestling after going to college on an athletic scholarship and playing professional football for two years. A recruiter from Texas who liked my dad’s look offered him a salary at the WWF that he couldn’t refuse. After two years of wrestling under…

View original post 4,136 more words

Author: Grandtrines

Like so many people, I am a paradox. I am a politically conservative vegetarian. I am from a Christian background, and still tend to like those values, but am a metaphysical astrologer trained in science who has an interest in the magic of ancient Egypt and a weird belief that some piece of our essence can live on a server. I live in Texas, but like chatting with my international Wordpress pals the best. I learn by teaching. Technically, I am a "Leo," but I am very, very Aquarian with a dose of Scorpio. I bitterly complain about Algol (and Algol personaliites), yet it is the one star that defines me most (other than Regulus). (Which, oddly, makes me an Algol personality.) I am a reclusive lover of peace and quiet who has the Ascendant in the Via Combusta (the most conflict ridden part of the zodiac). I am an incredibly private person with a blog with over 800 followers and 50 to 150 regular daily visitors. I could go on, but I think you get the picture.

Leave a Reply

