To the parent whose child was just diagnosed with autism 

So many of us are not “neurotypical,” even if we have no diagnosis.

the silent wave

Hi moms and dads 🙂

A little muse tapped me on the shoulder today to let me know that somebody out there needed to read this today. Naturally, when that muse speaks, I oblige. Because somehow, somewhere, she’s usually right.

So come on over and have a seat, and let’s talk.

You’ve just come from the psychologist’s or pediatrician’s office. They said the A-word. In connection with your child. Or rather, they dropped it on you and it might have weighed a ton of bricks.

You might be devastated, grieving for a child that will never be like you imagined. You might have felt all your dreams evaporate and vanish, like ghosts.

Relax. Seriously, it’s OK. You’ve got this. And even though you might not feel that way yet, you will.

Because autism isn’t a boogeyman, nor is it even much of a disorder. There’s an entire, new revolution taking…

View original post 1,579 more words

Author: Grandtrines

Like so many people, I am a paradox. I am a politically conservative vegetarian. I am from a Christian background, and still tend to like those values, but am a metaphysical astrologer trained in science who has an interest in the magic of ancient Egypt and a weird belief that some piece of our essence can live on a server. I live in Texas, but like chatting with my international Wordpress pals the best. I learn by teaching. Technically, I am a "Leo," but I am very, very Aquarian with a dose of Scorpio. I bitterly complain about Algol (and Algol personaliites), yet it is the one star that defines me most (other than Regulus). (Which, oddly, makes me an Algol personality.) I am a reclusive lover of peace and quiet who has the Ascendant in the Via Combusta (the most conflict ridden part of the zodiac). I am an incredibly private person with a blog with over 800 followers and 50 to 150 regular daily visitors. I could go on, but I think you get the picture.

Leave a Reply

